Virginia wedding

Virginia Wedding Inspiration- Botanical Dreams

Styled shoots are a creative way for photographers, stylists, and other wedding pros, to show off their talent and visions to inspire readers for their own wedding planning.

Today’s feature is set against the backdrop of one of the oldest green houses in the country!

A word about the shoot from the planner, Lauren Harbin of Chancey Charm...

Our botanical editorial was inspired by the venue – Oatlands Historic House and Garden’s greenhouse. The greenhouse is the second oldest in the country and full of natural light and beautiful exposed stone and brick. It’s also a unique venue for intimate weddings and elopements in the heart of Loudoun County, Virginia.

We started by planning our tablescape. We really wanted to emphasize the botanical theme so we nestled our setup among the plants and florals the greenhouse holds throughout the winter. The brick and stone wall backdrop created a historical contrast to the clean, modern details.

Collaborating with Lark Floral, we selected a dynamic color palette that blended an array of whites, greens, dusty blues and warm hues, including coral, Pantone’s color of the year. The lush and vibrant bouquets featured garden roses, pepperberry, hydrangea, dahlias, and apricot cymbidium orchids, which added to the tropical vibe.

One of our main goals was to appeal to detail-oriented brides, sharing ideas of how you can tie a whole day together. Alchemy Calligraphy and Design created a modern invitation suite and vellum paper goods. Their elegant and minimalist vibe offset the age of the greenhouse. The bride’s dress was modern and elegant as well, with botanical, geometric designs that mimicked the leaves in the greenhouse setting.

While the majority of the shoot took place within the greenhouse we did spend time also exploring some of Oatlands’ expansive gardens, which include lush hedges and mountain views.

What we love about this shoot:

The expansive grounds and romantic pathways at the venue create an idyllic setting for a dreamy wedding.

Those soft pastel colors, including blush, orange, and blue echoed in the invites, flowers, and the shoes, have us swooning!

And not to mention those gorgeous bride’s maid’s dresses, love, love, love!

 

 

 

 

Sources:

Photography: Maddy Williams Photography // @maddywilliamsphotography

Planning: Lauren Harbin of Chancey Charm // @lauren.h_weddings @chanceycharm

Venue: Oatlands Historic House and Gardens // @oatlandsva

Bridal Boutique: Bridal Impressions // @bridalimpressions

Bride’s Dress: Allure Bridals // @allurebridals

Vintage Decor/Rentals: Bella Villa Vintage Rentals // @bellavillashop

Rentals: Select Event Group // @selecteventgroup

Makeup: Blushaway Makeup // @blushawaymakeup

Hair: Dare To Dream Hair // @dare2dreamhair

Florals: Lark Floral // @larkfloral

Jewelry: Quest Fine Jewelers // @questfinejewelers

Calligraphy: Alchemy Calligraphy // @alchemycalligraphy

Cake: Buttercream Bakeshop // @bttrcrmbakeshop

 

The author: Angeline Frame

Angeline is the owner/publisher of Virginia Bride Magazine and the show producer for The Greater Virginia Bridal Shows. She has a degree in Public Administration and Psychology from Virginia Commonwealth University. A former model and wedding venue owner- she loves all things wedding , fashion and decorating. In her spare time she likes to write, travel and get new ideas to share with brides.
Leave a Reply

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.